R.C. Matthews

Hello everyone! Welcome back to KH Book Reviews! We are excited to announce our Featured Author today, indie contemporary romance writer R.C. Matthews! 🙂

We met her via Goodreads – Read Romance, Write Romance. She is one of our most active members there and she’s been not only very helpful, but also very supportive of her fellow members who are writers/authors too! She has 5 books out – all of which you can purchase through Amazon for your beloved Kindles. She writes mainly contemporary romance. Between those 5 books, the sensual levels varies from 1-4 flames! 😉

Her most recent release is A Night to Remember. Our own Veronica Del Rosa who is VERY picky when it comes to contemporary romance (or anything that does not have the paranormal nature), LOVED IT! Unlike her enjoyable Wish Come True series, this New Year’s Eve romance novel also features some yummy sex scenes! R.C. takes the time to sit down with us to tell us more about herself and her work!

When and why did you begin writing?
If you don’t count the books and poetry that I wrote in elementary school, then I seriously began writing in 2012. I’ve always enjoyed writing of all types – essays in college, whitepapers for business, poetry. You name it, I like it. And I have always loved reading from a very young age. I like to challenge myself so I decided I wanted to try my hand at writing a book. The statistics are fascinating about how many people attempt to write a novel but don’t finish.

What inspired you to write your first book?
I fell in love with romance novels during my college years and after going on a cruise for my graduation gift, I wanted to write a romance novel that was on a cruise ship because I’d never read a romance with that setting as a backdrop. I started my first novel in 1998 while living in Germany but life was too hectic with getting married and having children. So when I found my notes and first three chapters stuffed in a box in my basement in 2012, I dusted them off and started writing. Almost one year later, the end result was Little White Lies.

What books have most influenced your life most?
I’m not sure that books influence my life per se. I can’t think of a book that made me change the way I think or act, except maybe Suze Orman. I’ve taken all of her financial advice to women. I’m confident she would give me high marks for my personal financial planning (LOL). But I love books from all genres. All I ask of of book is that it take me far away from my daily life and let me escape. That being said, Till Dawn Tames the Night by Meagan McKinney was probably the historical romance novel that really made me want to try my hand at writing. In addition, I’m a HUGE Jane Austen fan and read Pride and Prejudice over and over and over again without getting bored. I love Jane Austen’s wit and I try to inject humor into all of my stories.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?
I guess I would pick Jane Austen. Her writing style is very easy and witty and her stories mainly center around the family. My Wish Come True series is centered around a family and is full of humor.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?
I’m currently writing a three book teen fantasy series called Destiny is an Adventure. My thirteen year old son begged me to write it for him when he learned that I wrote a romance novel. He has been reading each chapter as I complete it and says he loves it so far. So I guess we’ll see how it goes. My pen name for that series is David N. Sebastian.

Tell us your latest news.
I have a new erotic romance coming out in June 2015 with Loose Id. The working title is “Make Me Whole” but I’m not sure if I get to keep that title yet. I just completed the presubmission checklist edits and sent it off to my editor. Squeeee! I can’t wait. This book is VERY different than my other books. It is full of conflict and angst. If you’ve read my other books, then you’ll know that my stories are usually whimsical and humorous – feel good books. Make Me Whole is not a feel good book – it’s a heart-wrenching story that will have you in tears. Remember earlier when I said I like to challenge myself? Yep. That’s why I wrote Make Me Whole. I wanted to see if I could write an erotic romance novel full of angst and conflict. Mission accomplished.

Congratulations on your tie up with Loose Id for your upcoming novel, R.C.! We are very excited for you! 🙂

Some of our own Kat’s favorite titles are with Loose Id. We all love more than just a little steam in our romance sometimes – which Loose Id is known for – and so we are looking forward to reading the pending release of Make Me Whole! Do y’all wanna hear a secret? Make Me Whole is just no ordinary erotic romance – it’s a Menage a Trois Romance. YES, you read that right! It’s a big risk for R.C. considering she usually writes feel good books.

R.C. is one of the most engaging characters we had the pleasure to know! Kat first met her through Goodreads when she announced that Date Night is on a freebie promo period. That was back in May 2014 (when it was newly published), she gave it a try and ended up not being able to finish it because it turned out to be ‘not her cup of tea’. Less than a year later, she decided to give it a try again and funnily enough, she ended up loving it! Don’t pass up a chance to get to know her, as well! And don’t forget to check out her books!

rcmatthews.com

Facebook Button Twitter Button wikipedia-32

Button - Amazon

Leave a Reply

