Veronica Del Rosa

We have a very special guest today. She is not only a multi (self) published author of paranormal romance slash urban fantasy but she is also a contributor to KH Book Reviews – please welcome, Veronica Del Rosa! She is also a co-moderator along with myself (Kat) and Rachel in our romance writers community on Goodreads: Read Romance, Write Romance.

I’m super excited to feature her. Her books are fast becoming one of my favorite series – and with each book, it just keeps getting better! I know she has more in store for us and will continue to surprise along the way. 🙂

Her latest project, Dawn’s Keeper, is soon to be published (June 15, 2015) and KHBR has been given an ARC. You can check out our review – simply click here. It was reviewed by me too! I absolutely loved it which is pretty obvious with my review. I basically did nothing but gush in that review! 😉 I bet other PNR fans would love it as well!

In anticipation of Dawn’s Keeper upcoming release, we sit down with Veronica and talk a bit about herself, her writing, and her other projects.

When and why did you begin writing?
I first began writing when I was about 9 years old, but it was mainly in my journal. I kept up with that until I was in my late 20s. I tried my hand at a few short stories in my late teens and even took a correspondence course to hone my craft. *laughs* Yeah, I was pretty terrible at it. I had no idea what I was doing.

Not sure why I started writing. I think I wanted to have a piece of me left behind, for others to read it and think of me. As a child, I had some pretty morbid thoughts.

What inspired you to write your first book?
My husband, actually. I was complaining to him about a book that I thought was simply terrible and yet so many people loved it. He looked at me and said, “If you can do better, then why don’t you write a book?” It was his polite way of telling me to put up or shut up. After that, I was determined to finally write a book. I had the idea of a magic filled world and a woman who was different than the rest, but not the special snowflake kind. 😉

What books have most influenced your life most?
Actual titles, I couldn’t tell you, but romance novels have been in my life since I was around 8 years old. Even then I was a voracious reader. I’d get into my mom’s collection, which neared 500 or so Harlequin romances novels. I was hooked. Now keep in mind, these books were written in the 60s and 70s, so no explicate sex. Instead I learned about relationships, love, and respect. The explicit sex wasn’t until much later. *laughs*

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?
Hmm, tough question. I’m honestly not sure. I haven’t actually followed a writer for their hints and tips, although there are a few authors who’s work I enjoy. If I had to choose, I’d say Ilona Andrews. I love their books, characters, and interactions with their fans.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?
I’m working on the 4th book of my Enforcers and Coterie series. This one will be about Victor, a Mage Enforcer, who has appeared since the very beginning. He even showed up in the prequel novella. Poor guy is hunting a human turned demon, but isn’t having any luck. For the Karl fans out there, Karl will appear in this novel.

Tell us your latest news.
On June 15th, the 3rd novel, Dawn’s Keeper, will be released. It’s on pre-order right now through Amazon. I’m very excited about this book, and already I’ve gotten a few 5 star reviews. This book is about Dawn, Julia’s vampire friend, and Eliijah.

Woohoo! Congratulations on the impending release of Dawn’s Keeper! 🙂 I hope the readers of this blog will take a chance on it. Trust me, there is sooo much to look forward to in Dawn’s Keeper. It’s unlike the previous book in the series. So far, it’s my favorite. I’ve been wowed by Sylvia’s Torment but I apparently I have yet to be fully wowed until I got to read Dawn’s Keeper. You can pre-order Dawn’s Keeper on Amazon by simply clicking here. After Dawn’s Keeper, she also has an upcoming novella which is titled Assassinated Love and it’s due in August! It is also included in her celebrated Enforcers and Coteries series. 🙂

Button - Amazon

Facebook Button Twitter Button Goodreads Button wikipedia-32

One thought on “Veronica Del Rosa

Leave a Reply

