Sawyer Belle

Hi everyone! This is Kat and we’re back with a new featured author!

Please welcome Sawyer Belle! I’m super happy to feature this author as I am a big fan of hers. 😀

We first met Sawyer in our romance writers community on Goodreads (Read Romance, Write Romance). She writes mainly historical romance and as a big fan of historical romance, indie titles under this romance subgenre is rarely a hit. Unfortunately for me, I have catching a lot of miss so I tend to steer clear from them… until I took a chance on this author! 🙂

From the very first book I have read from her – Love of a Lioness – until her most recent published title, I have been a big fan and anticipate her historical romance titles. I grew up reading Johanna Lindsey, Jude Deveraux, Lisa Kleypas and Kathleen E. Woodiwiss. Sawyer Belle is well on her way to those ranks in my opinion – granted that she is an indie! She is one of the reasons why KH Book Reviews is established. 🙂

Her historical romances are not just that. Other than romance there is also a bit of action, adventure and the great imagery that she presents especially in her Love in the Sierras series which is set in historical Nevada. According to some readers, her research is spot on and I believe that is a big factor for historical fiction. So we sit down and had a quick chat about her and her writing.

When and why did you begin writing?
I’ve always written from as early as I can remember, but I don’t really remember “why” I started writing. I suppose it’s because I loved reading. My nose was always stuck in some book and I loved getting lost in a good story. As children are wont to do, I mimicked the authors I loved and wrote stories, adventurous, rowdy, funny stories. I’ve got notebooks full of those as well as some unfinished stories from my teen years and early college years. It’s so fun to go back over those pages and see my imagination and style grow.

What inspired you to write your first book?
I had my son ten years ago and pretty much gave up writing for several years. I wanted to focus on mothering, but within four or five years I realized I was neglecting myself by giving up something I so desperately loved, and I began writing again. I finished my first full-length romance novel in 2010 and now have more stories than I have time to write them!

What books have most influenced your life most?
The book that has most influenced my life is hands-down the Holy Bible. Other books that have influenced my thoughts, opinions and even my writing are The Brothers Karamazov, Little Women, Pride and Prejudice, and most anything by Dickens.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?
For the romance genre, I would kill to have Marsha Canham as a mentor. She is actually the author who made me want to write romance. The thing that used to turn me away from the romance genre as an author was the cookie-cutter trap. I didn’t want the same boy to meet the same girl and find the same happily ever after, you know? When I discovered Marsha Canham’s historical romances, it hit me like lightning. I thought, “THAT’S it! That’s what I want to write.” Her stories are more than just love. They’re full of adventure, history, action and humor. That’s what I want to write.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?
Sawyer Belle: Sure! I’ve got two WIPs right now. One is the third in my Love in the Sierras series, Ruby’s Song. The first little bit takes place in Boston, and it has been fascinating to study the evolution of the city during the post-Civil War years. I hope readers will appreciate Boston’s brief cameo in my western series. My second WIP is a contemporary romance (my second) that takes place in the Bahamas. It features an American nurse and South African runaway who come together during their work at an AIDS hospice. It is fiction, but definitely based off some of my own real life experiences.

Tell us your latest news?
Sawyer Belle: I am guest blogging for fellow historical romance author Regan Walker on June 15th. Her wonderful blog is http://reganromancereview.blogspot.com/ and I’ll be sharing some of my research for the Love in the Sierras series, specifically the hardships and dangers of the early mining years of Virginia City. The city pioneered mining efforts around the world, but it was not without its tragedies and sacrifices. Visit the site on June 15th to read more about this wild time in an old western town. I’ll also be doing a giveaway of Silver Nights With You to one lucky commenter. Thank you for having me, ladies. I love your blog!

Comment away, dear readers! I personally loved Silver Nights With You and click HERE to read my 5-star review! I’m very excited about Ruby’s Song which would feature a different couple this time. A little teaser about this couple could be seen on Desert Sunrise’s epilogue. Also we’ll be sure to watch out for your guest blog, Sawyer! It would be interesting to find more about the history of Virginia City. Personally, as a non-American, I’m very interested in it and no doubt looking forward to it!

sawyerbelle.com

Facebook Button Twitter Button Goodreads Button

Button - Amazon

3 thoughts on “Sawyer Belle

  1. Jamie Jeffries says:

    Love of a Lioness was an outstanding read! Fascinating to get to know Ms. Sawyer Belle just a bit better, and can’t wait until I can get to her most recent title.

    One thing your readers should know…Sawyer is a sweet lady and a generous friend. She has helped so many in our GR group with encouragement and great blurb ideas. She deserves recognition and I appreciate that you’ve given it to her in your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

