Four Days by Jamie Campbell

Title: Four Days
Author: 
Jamie Campbell
Series:

Genre: Contemproray
Release date: April 27, 2015
Pages:
125
Synopsis:

25328719Told in the first person (past tense), “Four Days” is Luci’s story of collapse and rebuild; of broken love and the promise of future love – and redemption. A Contemporary Romance that includes a road trip through New Zealand, a hero, villains, a foul-mouthed best friend, and tennis.

“Four Days” would appeal to lovers of happy endings.

Luci’s Wijn’s six year career as a professional tennis player started with early promise; then came mediocrity; then came life as just another obscure player moving from tournament to tournament. With her career in limbo and her personal life in turmoil Luci has spent the last six months hiding from the challenges ahead. But at her best friend’s wedding it dawns on Luci that she has only four days until her first tournament of the year.

With life on and off the court catching up with her, and events conspiring against her, Luci has no choice but to let a man she hardly knows help her through what may be the most important four days of her life.

Button - Amazon

Rating: Star-FullStar-FullStar-EmptyStar-EmptyStar-Empty
Reviewer: Kat

Originally I didn’t want to post this review since I have given it a low rating but the author has told me to post it anyway. I don’t want to scare off potential readers with my low rated review. I just want to make it clear that this is entirely based on my personal opinion. To each his own as the saying goes.

This was an unconventionally written type of romance. First person, narrative. I’m a stickler for tradition and I prefer my romance written in 3rd Person POV.

I thought this book was very well written—lyrical even—and the plot was good but I got stuck in the heroine’s head which ended up a bad experience for me all throughout the book, because I couldn’t decide if I liked her or not. There was a lot of rambling in her head that I felt wasn’t very significant to the story… Because of that, the story was dragged out. Sometimes we get too lost in her head that we forget what was really happening. The Hero on the other head I found a bit uninteresting. I don’t know what the heroine saw in him and the ‘chemistry’ seemed a bit superficial.

Just a bit of an afterthought… I could see this book under ‘Literary Fiction’ with the way it is written and the story dynamics, rather than ‘Romance’.

This copy was provided by the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.

About this author

Yay. I’m an Indie author. I write Contemporary Romance. Why? Because I can. A generation ago I’d be selling real estate.

I like being creative – and being involved with creative people; whether it’s film, music, art, writing. There’s a commonality among those who are prepared to create – and throw that creation before the public. I have always written – mostly for work; and mostly non-fiction. I have tried to keep even the most tedious non-fiction interesting. I enjoy fiction – and enjoy writing about what I don’t know. I do also enjoy the drama of sport; but resist the urge to write about sports I intimately know (save in a non-fiction sense). I would love to get my thoughts on football down on paper in essay form. Some day. What I enjoy most about fiction writing is the evolution of a story from concept to conception to completion; and the joy of the power that can sometimes be found within a well crafted sentence.

Me? I’m 46 years old. I live in a ridiculously small town. I walk to my day job most mornings. I’m married. We own chickens and a dog; and we like trees.

Leave a Reply

