The Veil (Series) by Pippa DaCosta

Title: Wings of Hope
Author: 
Pippa DaCosta
Series:
The Veil – #0.5
Genre: Dark Fantasy
Release date: October 11, 2014
Synopsis:

26130893“I am his muse. But not for long…”

When Mammon, the Prince of Greed, ‘acquires’ a half-blood slave known as ‘Muse’ for three nights, and bespells her with tales of a world where people live like kings and queens among towers of steel and glass, the seed of hope takes root in Muse’s soul. But hope, for a half-human half-demon creature like her, is a dangerous thing. Especially when that tentative hope springs from the honeyed words of a Prince of Hell.

What is Mammon’s price for freedom?

Meanwhile Da’mean, her ruthless owner, would rather see her dead, than free. She belongs to him. She is his muse. And no beast will take her from him.

The world of the elemental demons is harsh and violent. Muse’s kin are merciless, blood-hungry beasts, but little do they know, Muse has something far more dangerous coiled inside her, desperate for a taste of freedom.

Her humanity.

Button - Amazon

Rating: Star-FullStar-FullStar-FullStar-FullStar-Full
Reviewer: Kat

What a sensational read!

Muse is the halfblood slave of a demon named Da’mean. The Prince of Greed, Mammon ‘loans’ her from Da’mean for three nights. During those three nights, the Prince tells of her of a different world where she can be free and as an abused slave, Muse cannot resist.

This story is set in the netherworld or more popularly known as Hell. The worldbuilding of the netherworld is phenomenal. I can just see the netherworld right before my eyes as I read along.

This novella is merely 50 pages or so but it packs quite the punch. This will leave you panting to read more about Muse. Trust me. This author weaves such an amazing world of demons. It’s dark and gritty and it’s everything I want in a Dark Fantasy read.

This copy was provided by the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.


Title: Beyond the Veil
Author: 
Pippa DaCosta
Series:
The Veil – #1
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Release date: January 1, 2014
Synopsis:

26130854

“They say I’m half a demon, but I like to think of myself as half human, especially as the demons want me dead.”

Charlie Henderson is living a lie. Her real name is Muse and her attempt at a normal life is about to go up in smoke.

When a half-demon assassin walks into her life, leaving a trail of destruction in his wake, Muse must return to the one man she hoped never to see again and ask for help. The Prince of Greed isn’t known for his charity. The price is high and the cost could tear her apart.

Trapped between the malevolent intentions of a Prince of Hell, an assassin with ulterior motives and her bloodthirsty demon-kin, Muse must embrace the lure of chaos at her core; the demon inside her, in order to survive.

If your ex is the Prince of Greed, you’d better be ready to raise hell.

Button - Amazon

Rating: Star-FullStar-FullStar-FullStar-FullStar-Empty
Reviewer: Kat

Fast-paced urban fantasy read that will no doubt keep you on your toes!

For 5 years, Muse tried to live as human but her past won’t let her. After all, she is also part demon. One day a stranger comes into her blacksmith shop who’s in need of her services and instead threatens her; she turns aggressive in defense and turns him away. Not long after the stranger left, her shop is destroyed forcing her to seek help and refuge with an ex-flame who also happens to be one of the 7 Princes of Hell–Mammon–also known as Akil in human form. But other demonic creatures come after and it’s clear that someone wanted her head on a silver platter. Who is trying to kill her? Muse is dumbfounded. The stranger who is revealed as Stefan? Her full demon brother? Akil?

Pippa DaCosta’s writing style is very smooth, making it easy for a reader to completely dive into the story. The plot is a little suspense driven, never a dull moment and I really loved that this book kept me second guessing. I never knew what to expect in the next page. The characters are so very complex! They’re the kind of characters you have a love-hate relationship with, especially Akil!


Title: Devil May Care
Author: 
Pippa DaCosta
Series:
The Veil – #2
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Release date: May 13, 2014
Synopsis:

26130914

“He should be dead. I thought I’d killed him. I was wrong.”

Three dead enforcers in three weeks, their bodies butchered. Muse has seen it before, and when she reads the metal memories in the murder weapon, she sees it all again. Her owner, Damien, is back, and he wants what is rightfully his.

Muse escaped him and the netherworld, once before. This time, she’s stronger, smarter. This time she knows she has the fires of hell at her fingertips, but so does Damien, and he’s not the only one. Akil is weak. No longer a Prince of Hell, he needs Muse’s limitless power to regain his title. How fortuitous then, that Akil’s fate is tied to the one man she cares the most for.

As Muse, Stefan, and Akil battle their own demons, not all will come away victorious. Some choices can never be forgiven. Some lies are never forgotten. Some wounds will never heal.

Button - Amazon

Rating: Star-FullStar-FullStar-FullStar-FullStar-Full
Reviewer: Kat

Six months after Akil and Stephen disappeared into the veil, Muse goes by the name Charlie, working as an Enforcer for the Institute. Three other Enforcers were murdered with their bodies brutalized and when she caught a glimpse of who it was, she was terrified. Muse thought she’d killed Damien–her owner before Akil saved her. He was alive and he’s back to take back what once was his. She thought she can just easily kill him again but Damien is different this name, more powerful that ever before and he did something to her that only the Princes of Hell knew how to undo.

Pippa DaCosta stepped up her game in this 2nd installment of The Veil Series. From the very first page, she had me hooked into Muse’s world. Here, we learn a little more about the characters, making them more solid that they are almost tangible. Full of cleverly weaved plot twists and turns! The world building of the netherworld was so incredible that I can see the place so clearly in my mind, as if I had been there already.

There’s more that I want to say but I don’t want to risk any spoilers. I love love love it and it is way better than what I had anticipated. And of course, unsurprisingly I still am rooting for Akil/Mammon.

This is fast becoming one of my favorite series! I highly recommend it to all fantasy fans!

This copy was provided by the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.


Title: Darkest Before Dawn
Author: 
Pippa DaCosta
Series:
The Veil – #3
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Release date: October 15, 2014
Synopsis:

26130928“It’s too late to save myself, but I’ll save her, even if it kills me.”

When Akil leaves a nine year old half-blood girl on Muse’s doorstep, it’s not long before the demons come hunting, but this time Muse isn’t the target. The Institute, Muse’s immortal brother, and the Princes of Hell, all want a piece of the little half-blood. What’s so special about Dawn, and why has Akil conveniently disappeared just as Muse needs answers?

To save the half-blood girl, Muse must first save herself, but is it already too late? Muse’s humanity is failing. Her demon hungers. The darkness coiled around her heart lures her toward madness. And all that stands between Muse and her demon’s lust for destruction, is the hope that some half-bloods do get happy endings.

The veil weakens. Titles will fall. A new prince rises. And if Muse can’t stop them, the demons will have their day.

Button - Amazon

Rating: Star-FullStar-FullStar-FullStar-FullStar-Full
Reviewer: Kat

I am chaos eternal. I desire everything this world and the next offers. I am greed. I hunger. Oh, how I hunger… I want the pathetic mortals of this world to bow before me. I want all that they own, all they desire, every marvelous creation of theirs, but there is only one thing in this world that I need, and that, Muse, is you.

THIS SERIES JUST KEEPS GETTING BETTER!

The story picks up where a beat up Akil left a girl named Dawn who also is a half-blood on Muse’s doorstep. At first Muse was weary, suspicious but it wasn’t long before she grew protective of her, swearing to protect the girl from the horrors she herself had experienced. It was difficult, because everyone wants Dawn – Valenti, the Institute, and the other Princes of Hell. Meanwhile, Muse is changing. Her demon is fiercer and hungrier than ever before, and she feared that she’d totally lose her humanity.

What can I say about this series that I haven’t before? It is incredible, action-packed, a little mystery thrown in, even a little tragedy, and full of highly remarkable characters. I knew that Pippa DaCosta wouldn’t disappoint. This is, by far, my favorite book in the series.

This copy was provided by the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.


Title: Drowning in the Dark
Author: 
Pippa DaCosta
Series:
The Veil – #4
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Release date: February 27, 2015
Synopsis:

26130934“I wasn’t demon enough to defeat my brother before. Things have changed.”

As the veil begins to fall, and the demons bleed through onto the streets of Boston, Muse knows the battle is lost before it’s even begun.

To make matters worse, Adam and the Institute have captured Akil at a time when the city has never needed him more. Muse believes Akil’s incarceration is a ruse, because if he truly is at the mercy of the Institute, she must choose which side she’ll fight for. Human or demon?

The princes are coming. Valenti, Muse’s immortal half-brother, leads the charge. The Institute is not ready, the people of Boston are not prepared, but one man is. Stefan knows what it will take to beat back the netherworld. Will his demon allow him the freedom to right his wrongs?

Muse’s loyalty will be tested. To save those she loves, she must give up that which she cherishes most. Her humanity.

The Mother of Destruction is about to go nuclear.

Button - Amazon

Rating: Star-FullStar-FullStar-FullStar-FullStar-Full
Reviewer: Kat

Pippa DaCosta once again dazzles me with the latest installment of The Veil, Drowning in the Dark. I had the privilege to be given an ARC. Plus there is a prologue told in Akil’s POV, available on the author’s website: I Watch.

The Institute captures Akil. Ryker’s changed and it’s not a good thing. Muse barely holds onto her humanity. Stefan is back. The veil falls. Valenti has halfbloods at his beck and call. The Princes of Hell come. In other words… Chaos is here, but this is just the beginning.

Let me start with OH MY GOD! This series is gonna be the death of me. So many twists and turns I seriously didn’t count on. You can’t not invest emotions in this book if you are a fan. The story is so full of tension, you can seriously feel it around you. The action scenes left me breathless. The status of Muse’s relationships with Akil and Stefan left me befuddled (‘course I’m still rooting for my Akil). There are also revelations in the book that had me saying ‘OH MY GOD! Really?!’. Damn.

This book left me mesmerized…

And anxiously awaiting the very last installment of the series, which is sad and exciting at the same time. It all ends in book 5, Ties That Bind, which comes in Spring.

Urban fantasy lovers, if you haven’t checked out this series yet… WHY NOT?

This copy was provided by the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.


Title: Ties That Bind
Author: 
Pippa DaCosta
Series:
The Veil – #5
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Release date: April 20, 2015
Synopsis:

26130952“I am fire. I am destruction. I will be their nightmare.”

The veil fell. Demons are here. Muse knows she can stop the slaughter, but to do so, she must return to the battle-scarred streets of Boston and face the cold, hard, truth. Her old life is ashes. Her love, turned to dust. But all is not lost; a spark of hope remains. A spark from which an inferno can blaze.

To stop the demons claiming Earth as their own, Muse must unite those capable of repairing the veil. The Dark Court, led by her Prince of Lust father, seek to recruit her to their cause. They want the veil destroyed for good; for chaos to reign for eternity. She will need to manoeuvre around their deadly intentions, and enlist the King of Hell’s help, before it’s too late.

For Muse to succeed, she must survive her father, save her soul, resurrect her love, forgive her enemies, and betray a trust. She must be everything she can be—demon and human. She must be their nightmare.

***

In this, the fifth and final Veil Series book, we return to where it all began. To the netherworld, where once a wretched half-blood girl surprised the Prince of Greed. To a world where ‘hope’ is fantasy, and ‘love’ a disease.

Muse is ready to take the fight to the demons. Are you?

Button - Amazon

Rating: Star-FullStar-FullStar-FullStar-FullStar-Full
Reviewer: Kat

Indeed. I cannot believe that this series is over! Ties That Bind is the conclusion to this series, one of the best series I have ever read and definitely, one of my all-time favorites. I was not ready for it to be over but I had to succumb to its call the minute it was on my Kindle.

** This review may or may not contain spoilers **

First of all, thank you to Pippa for providing me with an ARC.

The Princes of Hell need Muse to kill the King of Hell, so the veil can be destroyed for good, for chaos to reign forever; he is the only one who can close the veil, but that is only possible with the Queen of Hell is by his side. Muse also needs him to bring back Akil.

Let me be honest. I am having a hard time writing a review right now. I don’t think I’ll ever bring this book or the rest of the series some justice. I’m out of poetic words to bring praise to this series.

Like I said above, I wasn’t ready for this series to be over. I want more Muse, definitely more Akil, and fine, more Stefan, and even Ryder! I think that this is an explosively perfect ending to a series; everything I ever dreamed it would be. More twists, more turns, and definitely surprises! This author got me good. I’m a big Akil fan and if you’ve read this book, you’ll know what I’m talking about.

I was never a Stefan fan at the start, but damn me if I didn’t love him by the time I reached the end. I didn’t even want to like him (because I’m loyal to Akil /wink/), but he was too charming and lovely and well-developed that I couldn’t help but give in.

Muse is a big part of me now. I believe that she is a character that is to be celebrated. From Wings of Hope to Ties That Bind, her development is incredible and definitely unforgettable. In this last installment, she has embraced her demon and knows now her place in this world, and still continues to fight for her freedom, to live a normal life in Boston.

I hope everyone who reads my review decides to pick up this series and stick with it from to start to finish. I swear it is worth every cent and every time spent! I promise that even if you are not an urban fantasy fan to start with, you will enjoy it!

About this author

Born in Tonbridge, Kent in 1979, Pippa’s— “Wait a second. Let’s cut to the chase. I write kick-ass urban fantasy & sci-fi novels with conflicted characters, breathless action, and no-holds-barred dialogue. My books may not leave you feeling all fluffy and warm inside, but they will excite you. There will be plot-twists, angst, probably a few dead bodies, and very likely your favorite character will turn out to be the bad guy. Don’t say I didn’t warn you…” 

pippadacosta.com

Facebook Button twitter-32 Goodreads Button
One thought on “The Veil (Series) by Pippa DaCosta

Leave a Reply

