Elizabeth Brown

It’s been a while since our last author feature! Today, we have a special guest, Elizabeth Brown – Erotic & Contemporary Romance author! She has 4 books out which are available on Amazon and other ebook retailers. Elizabeth is also a member of Read Romance, Write Romance; she’s the one who pops in and out of discussions with tips and she usually delivers them with wit!

When and why did you begin writing?
Ready for a very un-romantic story? I’m not one of those people who grew up writing. I started writing for some very practical reasons.

  1. I had some free time. My husband was busy with a project at work, and I needed a hobby;
  2. I wanted a creative outlet. I’d grown up always doing art, but I wanted something new; and finally
  3. I loved reading romance novels, and thought it’d be fun to try my hand at it… not that I ever thought I’d publish anything!

What inspired you to write your first book?
Honestly? Don’t judge me, but (Determined) was supposed to be Fifty Shades fanfic, but it pretty quickly turned into its own thing. I was pleased as punch when a reviewer said “Determined is no FSOG (and that’s a good thing!)”

What books have most influenced your life most?
When I was young, I was addicted to Roald Dahl, the original OZ books (Baum), and The Babysitters Club. As an adult, some of my favorite books would be The Road by Cormac McCarthy, Devil In The White City by Erik Larson, Anne Rule true crime, and anything by Nora Ephron. In terms of romance, I don’t know if I have influences per say, but if you browse my reviews on GoodReads, there are definitely a few reviews that say “This author is so good, they make me want to kill myself.”- that’s supposed to be high praise. I would also say that great movie and television writers are a big influence. 

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?
I don’t know how to answer that… I have a couple of great supportive friends who are fellow writers, but formal *mentors*. ::holds up a now-hiring sign::

Can you share a little of your current work with us?
I’m currently working on a follow up to The Lessons, which will be Book II in the Off-Limits series. It’s going to be Lambo and Ainsley’s story. You know, older-brothers-best-friend… but don’t worry, if you were hoping for more Ryan and Natalie, they are in there too 😉

The following is unedited.

WARNING! This excerpt may offend some readers. Read at your own risk.

They call me Lambo, or Lam for short.

But I guess if I was being accurate, they don’t just call me it- they moan it. Usually while my dick’s in their mouth. And before you judge me, it’s there because they were fucking begging for it.

Yeah.

And then it happens. Invariably.

Yep, once they’ve wiped the cum off their tits, they ask me how I got such a name.

They tell me it’s hot. That it’s sexy or mysterious or some fucking bullshit. So I tell them The Story. The long fucking convoluted story about howonce upon a time, I was hanging out a club with some girls. And during the course of the night, I’d banged one of them in a closet. Later on, my friends overheard her friends saying I was the best thing in the club that night.

Top of the line, they said.

A fucking Mercedes, her friend cooed. 

But the chick I’d done in the closet disagreed. No, she’d said:

He’s not a Mercedes. That man is a fucking Lamborghini.

Hot fucking sex-on-a-stick Italian engineering.

Too bad I’m not even Italian.

Too bad it’s all a lie.

Tell us your latest news.
This isn’t so much my writers life, but some friends and I just registered for the RT Booklovers convention in April! I’m so stoked for Vegas! And also, Book II in the Off-Limits series should be out around the new year – I just committed some dates to my editor.

Thanks for taking the time to chat with us, Elizabeth! 🙂

Button - Amazon

facebook-32 twitter-32 goodreads-32 wikipedia-32

One thought on “Elizabeth Brown

Leave a Reply

