The Awakening of Ivy Leavold by Sierra Simone

Title: The Awakening of Ivy Leavold
Author:
Sierra Simone
Series:
Markham Hall – #1
Genre:
Erotica 
Release date: January 12, 2015
Pages:
184
Synopsis:

23403637Yorkshire, 1879

I am alone…

When Ivy Leavold is left destitute by her brother’s death, she is taken in by her cousin’s brooding, tortured widower—Julian Markham. Handsome and possessive, it’s not long before Ivy falls for him. But Mr. Markham has dark secrets, secrets that may put Ivy in danger…

I am afraid…

As Ivy unravels the mystery surrounding her cousin’s death, she falls deeper and deeper in love with Julian, who opens her body and her mind to his indomitable will. But even as he draws pleasure and desire from her night after night, Ivy can’t shake the feeling that their passionate affair may end in violence…

And I’m completely his.

Button - Amazon

Rating: Star-FullStar-FullStar-FullStar-FullStar-Empty
Reviewer: Kat

Sierra Simone is officially my new go-to erotica author. Why? Because a) she writes such enigmatic characters; b) she writes so deftly; and c) she writes the most awesome sex scenes ever with an effective plot to go along with it, and it was just what I need and what I was looking for. I SWEAR this book is one of the hottest books I have ever read. While it was very hot and very explicit, it was nowhere near close to trashy or tasteless, it was very well written.

Ivy Leavold had lost her zest for life when her parents died, and when her brother died leaving her also bereft, alone and homeless, she had no choice but to accept the offer of her cousin’s widow.

Markham Hall was a dark and broody place, representing its master, Julian Markham. Twice widowed, Mr Markham was rumoured to be responsible for both his wives deaths.

Even then, Ivy was helpless in her feelings this brooding man evoked from her. Lust. Thrill. Fear. She soon learned the art of carnal acts within the circle of his arms, all the while the mystery of her cousin’s death niggled at the back of her mind.

I DEVOURED this book. I couldn’t keep away from my Kindle when I started it. I had no idea what this book was about when I started it. All I knew it was Erotic Historical Romance, and when those three terms are used as a single phrase I knew I had to read it no matter what.

Julian Markham. Wowow, this Hero. Handsome, hot, lustful, broody and tortured AF. I simply cannot resist this type of Hero. I love a man with lesser morals. I love that he could not resist Ivy, that even though he knew it was wrong he still went ahead and did it. Ivy was a virgin, an innocent PERIOD. He didn’t just seduce her, he took advantage of her and her feelings for him. He knew this and yet he wasn’t sorry for it.

Written in 1st person POV, I love being in Ivy’s head, although I’m quite curious to learn Markham’s side of the story. Ivy was an interesting character, to say the least. We get to join her on her journey from a young woman who was more or less lost in this world to a woman who learned lust, love and being reckless, throwing everything on the line for a man who proved to be dangerous–in more ways than one.

I cannot get enough of this series. As I’m writing this, I’m already a quarter past through the third book. It’s quite addictive!

About this author

Sierra Simone is a former librarian who spent too much time reading romance novels at the information desk.  She lives with her husband and family in Kansas City.

One thought on “The Awakening of Ivy Leavold by Sierra Simone

Leave a Reply

